Institut Science Unitaire


What are the chakras?

"Chakra" is a Sanskrit word without any equivalent in our language. It literally means “wheel”. They are neural-psychic centres, located on a vertical axis along the spine. They are organs of subtle extra-sensory perception. When correctly operated and controlled, they allow us to resonate with different vibratory planes.
The seven main chakras are located along a vertical line, from the perineal zone to the top of the head.
Muladhara is the root-chakra at the base of the spine, where Kundalini, the serpent of vitality, coils. It can be gradually awakened under control, letting the basal powers ascend.
Swadhistana, slightly under the navel and linked to the spleen, is used in martial arts as an energy control centre.
Manipura is located at the solar plexus, a very important centre in the neuro-vegetative system. Manipura is the centre of lower emotions and animal sensitivity based on survival instinct. It is also linked to the liver.
Anahata, the fourth chakra, at the top of the chest, is the heart chakra. It allows us to elevate our emotions and feelings. The energy that was purified and refined through Manipura then becomes a feeling of love.
Vishudda is located on the throat. When properly aroused, it can become the seat of clearaudience (hearing on other planes).
Ajna, the sixth charka, or “third eye”, is located between the eyebrows. It is the centre of clairvoyance, (vision on etheric or astral planes).
Sahasrara, on top of the head, is a connection place for subtle channels. It allows contact with superior dimensions of consciousness.
From one chakra into another, the basal energies of vitality are processed and turned into a higher and more sublimated vibrating emotion, likely to pass through the different levels of sensitivity, subtlety and sublimity that make the being vibrate in contact with other dimensions of himself and of the universe.